Discussion Board and Facebook

I am using discussion board and Facebook in my online class in hopes to stimulate better discussions and engage students!This is my trial of it this semester. In the past my discussion board “discussions” seemed very dry and more of a “to do” item the students completed. I have revamped my discussion boards, and I am using an optional Facebook closed group to those who which to connect through that. Others can still use  blackboard discussion. I have changed my postings in both areas to reflect weekly things happening in the world and relating it to my class with the expectation students login once a week. So far the student feedback has been positive, and I have been seeing more posts that include more than students telling each other “I agree.” I am hoping to stimulate small group discussion in each area, and make them critically think!

 

Leave a comment